## **Probability Section of the SSC**

# President's report to 2024 AGM

### 1. Executive Committee

The current executive is composed as follows:

Name	Role	Current Term Dates	
		Start	End
Tom Salisbury	President	2023-07-01	2024-06-30
Shui Feng	Past-President	2023-07-01	2024-06-30
Raj Srinivasan	President-Elect	2023-07-01	2024-06-30
François Marshall	Secretary	2022-07-01	2025-06-30
Aaron Smith	Treasurer	2023-01-07	2026-06-30

Shui Feng will soon finish his three years of service as President-Elect, President, and Past-President of the section. I would like to personally thank Shui, for his help and his excellent service to the section. As of July 1, 2024 the composition of the committee will be:

Name	Role	Current Term Dates	
		Start	End
Raj Srinivasan	President	2024-07-01	2025-06-30
Tom Salisbury	Past-President	2024-07-01	2025-06-30
Cindy Greenwood	President-Elect	2024-07-01	2025-06-30
François Marshall	Secretary	2022-07-01	2025-06-30
Aaron Smith	Treasurer	2023-01-07	2026-06-30

## 2. Activities

For the 2024 SSC Annual meeting, the section sponsored the following activities

- Workshop: Introduction to Infectious Disease Modeling (Organizer: Bouchra Nasri, Montreal).
- Session: Inference for autoregressive and Markov models, a memorial session for Wolfgang Wefelmeyer (Organizer: Cindy Greenwood, UBC; speakers Cindy Greenwood, Ursula Müller, and Anton Schick)
- Session: Inference methods in stochastic processes with change-points; recent advances (Organizer: Severien Nkurunziza, Windsor; speakers Zhou Zhou, Mai Ghannam, and Rogemar Mamon)
- Session: Recent advances in random walks (Organizer: J. Vaillancourt, HEC; speakers Deli Li, Hélène Guérin, and Lucile Laulin)
- Session: Advanced development on time series and their applications (Organizer: Bruno Remillard, HEC; speakers Bouchra Nasri, Mohamedon Ould Haye, and Masoud Nasari)
- Award for student presentation (Organizer: Shui Feng, McMcaster)

An additional session titled *Probability Models in Finance* was proposed to the section, and then took place as a general contributed session. Organizer Marcos Escobar-Anel, speakers Marcos Escobar-Anel, Bruno Rémillard, Anatoliy Swishchuk.

Feedback received about the workshop was very positive. Speakers were Bouchra Nasri and Iain Moyles.

Two contributed paper sessions were held, titled *Probability Models*, and *Distributions*: *Theory and Asymptotics*. Student presentations were delivered in the latter. A \$750 prize was awarded to Ian Waudby-Smith (Carnegie Mellon) for his presentation *Distribution-Uniform Strong Laws of Large Numbers*. Competition judges were Hélène Guérin, Bouchra Nasri, and Shui Feng.

The section continues to maintain Facebook and LinkedIn groups, curated by François Marshall.

Yearly membership fees remain at \$10 for members, and \$5 for associate members.

The SSC Board discussed the eligibility for the Pierre Robillard Award, which had been displayed inconsistently in several parts of the SSC website. The current wording is now consistent, and says

The Pierre Robillard Award recognizes the best PhD thesis defended at a Canadian university in a given year and written in the fields of probability or statistics.

#### 3. Thanks

I wish to thank all the members of the executive committee, as well as the SSC officers and staff, for their help and support. I also thank all those who organized sessions or activities for the probability section.

-Tom Salisbury, June 2024